About the Author

For those of you visiting this blog unfamiliar with me I’m Daniel Newcomb and I’m currently a graduate student at Virginia Tech working on two graduate degrees in History and Secondary Education. I graduated from Virginia Tech in 2013 with a B.A. in History, completed various internships at institutions like Thomas Jefferson’s Monticello and Historic Smithfield Plantation, and completed the Historic Deerfield Undergraduate Summer Fellowship Program in Early American History and Material Culture. As an undergraduate I also published research in Philologia, Virginia Tech’s College of Liberal Arts and Human Sciences research journal, titled “Stealing Themselves: Enslaved Virginians and Lord Dunmore’s Proclamation” (which you can read here: http://www.philologia.clahs.vt.edu/journal2013.html).

My main areas of interest are early American history, Native American histories and cultures, and educational history.

The main purpose of this blog is to share my research process with a wider audience, reflect upon my progress, share my ideas, and receive constructive feedback to assist me in constructing my graduate thesis.

Please feel free to follow me on this journey!

 

IMG_1322
The author at Bandelier National Monument near Santa Fe, New Mexico.
Leave a Reply

